IB Diploma (IBDP)

IBDP Handbook 2023-24_Page_01

Recognised for its broad yet highly academic curriculum, the IB Diploma is made up of six subject groups. Students must take one subject from each group, with three subjects pursued at Higher Level and three at Standard Level. The six subject groups are:

All subjects hyperlinked to subject page

Group 1: Studies in Language and Literature

  1. Arabic Language and Literature
  2. English Language and Literature

Group 2: Language Acquisition

  1. French Ab Initio
  2. French B
  3. Spanish Ab Initio
  4. Spanish B
  5. Arabic B

Group 3: Individuals and Societies

  1. Business Management
  2. Economics
  3. History
  4. Geography
  5. Information Technology in Global Societies
  6. Psychology
  7. Global Politics

Group 4: Sciences

  1. Physics
  2. Biology
  3. Chemistry
  4. Environmental Systems and Societies
  5. Design Technology
  6. Computer Science
  7. Sports Science

Group 5: Mathematics

  1. Mathematics Analysis and Approaches
  2. Mathematics Applications and Interpretations

Group 6: The Arts

  1. Visual Arts
  2. Theatre
  3. Film
  4. Music

IB Diploma Programme Core

  1. Extended Essay
  2. Theory of Knowledge
  3. Creativity, Activity and Service

In addition to their subjects, all IBDP students complete three ‘core’ elements: Theory of Knowledge, Extended Essay and Creativity, Activity and Service (CAS) during their two years of study. A total of 45 points are available in the IB Diploma Programme, with each of the six Group subjects awarding a maximum of 7 points, and a further three points available through the ’core’.